The Suicide Girls & Doing WTF You Want

December 4, 2008 at 12:54 am (Reviews, Uncategorized, WTF Days) ()

Know of them? sggb31

The Suicide Girls are a collection of modern day pinup models. They tend to be pierced, tattooed, sexy, smart…and, cooler than you.

Check em out here:

Suicide Girls site

Why am I posting this here? 2 reasons:

1) My girlfriend is one of them…(no, I will not reveal which one)
2) Their movement is to be modeled…by me, and you

They believe in empowerment, and community, and there’s an unmistakable “cool factor” to the SG site. Also, they do self-improvement, but indirectly.

They aren’t ostentatious and “feel good” about it – they ARE improvement, in action.

Ever notice how there are mostly weirdos in the “self improvement” areas of bookstores? Ever notice how CREEPY self-improvement gurus are?

I mean, did you watch “The Secret”?? What a creepshow, IMO. It offers some great ideas, but it couches it in some of the most insulting, condescending and weird visuals/music/words, and gurus I’ve ever seen.

Guys don’t respond well to that. I was embarrassed by it (my fault? Possible), and didn’t even want others to see me with the DVD. So, what I’m looking to do with the guerrilla boys is to make self-improvement COOL for guys.

The only way to do that is to lean into your edge, and grow real self-esteem. You’ve gotta take risks and action to do that.

When I became a pro PUA (pick up artist), I found it to be exhilarating and scary. I grew in the process. I then left once it became mechanical and no longer, uncomfortable. Rather, NOT doing it became uncomfortable. This is when I made huge strides – in the letting go.

Nowadays, I feel I am in a new rut. One that pertains to WORK and my financial situation. I think about it constantly. And my solution is to dig-in and get busy, when the REAL answer (I believe) lies outside of that.

The Suicide Girls community supports the growth and development of its members along contemporary and FEMININE lines…sggb1

Men need the same thing. And the answer isn’t the “pick-up” community. Most guys go online for help with women and dating and find themselves steered over and over to the PUA-land. It’s creepy, but it’s the only thing available.

GBC is about making self-development cool for guys. That’s it. Plain and Simple.

We can learn from SG on that.

How will I start? This Friday, and every Friday after that…I am going to do WTF I want. It might be work, but it might not be too. I may sit around and read, I may write poetry. I may go to the gym…I don’t really know. But, when I wake up, I’ll know what I want to do and then I am going to do it.

Some rules:

1) I cannot hurt others
2) I must take risks
3) It must be fun and meaningful to ME (IOW, I live in NYC and can’t go scuba diving…I am me and am not interested in stand-up comedy).

Try it. Spend a day doing WTF you want. And lets see where it takes you, and me.

Stephen.

Leave a comment